3 inch mag turkey loads

My suggestion is trying different loads in your gun meaning brands, shot size and shot weights. I know it's costly, but you might be able to trade or buy couple of shells off some friends to try them. Then buy the one that patterns the best. What I've done for years. Then you'll want to try different choke tubes and it just keeps getting more and more and more:LOL: Dan.

I have been hunting turkeys for almost 30 years and I have tried a lot of different ammo. Heavy Shot worked well but it's very expensive. Started using Winchester Long Beard and had excellent results. And a box of 10 is half the price of the HeaviShot Magblend box of 5.
I'd suggest starting there. Chances are you will be done and money ahead.

JD338

I,ve been using magnum blend hevi-shot. thinking of going tungsten.....

Longbeard XR #5’s have turned many a gobbler heads to jelly for me. Plus they are easy on the wallet. You’ll be surprised how far you can stretch out and hammer them. 50 yards is very doable. Up close shots they are very tight, so a red dot or ring and post sight are your friends.

Longbeard XR #5’s have turned many a gobbler heads to jelly for me. Plus they are easy on the wallet. You’ll be surprised how far you can stretch out and hammer them. 50 yards is very doable. Up close shots they are very tight, so a red dot or ring and post sight are your friends.
I concur Howie.
Last year my wife smoked a Tom with her Franchi Affinity 20 ga using Winchester Long Beard at 60 yards. He was a little farther than we thought but it was a dead bird.

JD338

Ever pattern those XR's on paper at 50 yds? be interesting to see the results.

Some of those vids are surprising. Just so many varibles. choke, forcing cone,etc.

Never turkey hunted , but $10 a pop seems a tad overpriced.
the cost is ridiculous. performance always comes at a price. the number of #9 tungsten pellets in the patterns i've seen would be worth it to me.