dumb questions

Banshee

Beginner
Dec 31, 2007
I have been working on loads for my 270 WSM for several months on and off and have some questions that seem obvious to me but have not seen addressed on this or other forums.

My process has been to start at minimum loads and load in either 0.5 or 1 grain increments up to maximum published. The best group from those loads is then selected for powder charge and I start varying the distance to the lands and selecting the best of that series.

Is the optimal distance to the lands specific to that load and powder or specific to that particular bullet ie. 140 gr Nosler BT? If I change powder from Accurate Magpro to Reloder 17 will I need to re-do the distance to the lands series?

What if I just increase the Magpro charge by 2 grains?

I've been loading shotshells for years but am still a newbie with metallics and don't know the tendencies or rules of thumb yet.

Thanks in advance!

I wouldn't make this too complicated. You want to change as few things as possible when working up a load.

For a hunting rifle - Start with bullets loaded to a length that fits into the magazine and functions well. Normally I start with loads that are in the middle of the listed approved weight. Using loads at the bottom seems to negate the benefit of whatever cartridge you have chosen.

I would increase charges by more than a single grain until I know aprox where I want to be. Then you can fine tune from there. Know the various signs of excessive pressure and watch for them as you near the top listed load.

If an accurate load can not be obtained then I'd try a different powder. Most rifles will show a preference for 1 or 2 powders with any given bullet.

If multiple powders fail to obtain a decent group then I'd try a different bullet and start over. Changing bullets, powder, primers, oal etc. excessively will only confuse you while you try to find a decent load.

Good luck

I too am a relative newcomer, and share many of your questions.