Off the lands?

ronc80

Beginner
Dec 29, 2018
I'm working on a couple recipes for my 7mm08. I've come across something that makes me go hummm. Of course I'm kinda new to a lot of this. My hummm moment is with a 150 grain nosler E-tip. Load data says 2.770 for coal. I have 2.9540 at the lands with this bullet. That's a big long jump. Do I dare come .002 to .005 of the lands? It still leaves .52" of projectile in the neck of the case. Also what does that do for the pressure inside the case at the moment of truth?
The line in the pic on the E-tip is whats left in case. At 2.770 the conallure is just showing
20220910_170349.jpg20220910_170445.jpg20220910_172352.jpg

In my experience the e tip prefers a good bit of jump to the lands. I usually start at .050 and the sweet spot is usually between .050 to .100. Also measuring off the tip, I doubt you’ll be able to maintain .005”. There is to much inconsistency in the tips. For that much precision in your measuring, you need a comparator and be measuring cartridge base to ogive. Much more consistent in determining how far off the lands you are. On the e-tip it’s not really a cannalure, it’s a relief band. But it’s ok to be outside the neck. Not sure about nowadays, but the rule of thumb used to be to leave at lest 1 caliber size in the neck. So, for example, a 7mm you’d want .284 of bullet in the neck

Last edited:
E-tips usually like a lot of jump, in my 25-06 I am .135 off the lands and when I had my 270 wsm I was more than that, I believe.

With E-tips I start .050 off the lands and go deeper if need be to tighten up the group.