Did some 7-08 testing today

ReloadKy

Handloader
May 13, 2020
I had nine pieces of brass left in a batch that needed to be shot in order for me to resize all of the brass in that 7-08 box. So I decided to do a little velocity testing. I created three 3 shot groups with 3 different powders, R16, R17, H4350 with a 140 Nosler ballistic tip. I loaded each string at 1 grain below max. R16 gave me 2849 fps. H4350 was almost the same with 2851 fps. However R17 gave me an average of 2950 fps with 2 shots in one hole and the third was just a bit away from the other two giving me a 3 shot group of 0.895. This is my first try with R17 and I will definitely continue to experiment with it. I have some 140 gr Accubonds I plan to save for a possible 7-08 elk hunt. 2950 fps with a 140 gr AccuBond ought to kill the heck out of an elk. The 140 ballistic tip ought to kill the heck out of a deer.

Sounds pretty good. I'm at 2900fps with RL16 and 140gr E-tip. If RL17 works for you then cool but I wouldn't get too hung up on it personally. I was able to hit just short of 3000fps with RL16 just wasn't as accurate as I was wanting. I believe the same is probably possible with CFE223, Leverevolution and staball 6.5

From what I've read, I don't think I'd hesitate to use the 140 B-Tip on any elk I'm likely draw tags for. But if I could find Accubonds I would certainly use them. More is better, right?

Didn't try RL17 but did use the 140 AB on a deer and it expanded nicely creating an exit wound about the size of a quarter. Distance was 182 yds app. The 140 BT worked on deer and coyote very well also. Dan.

I spent a lot of time with the 7 odd 8 ... personal rifles to customers...
Imr4350 worked the best with 140 gr bullets
One particular rifle put 17 rounds into one ragged hole.
18th round would walk.
Clean bbl and right back in place.

This was all prior to Reloader 17 being introduced.
I've no Reloader 17 experience in the 7 odd 8

I can tell you that powder is a dream in the short mag.