I know i said I would never,(PICS UP!!!)

ScreaminEagle

Handloader
Jan 20, 2011
Ok guys, some of you know that I have strong negative feelings about the m16/ar-15 platform. These negative feelings are based on my 8+ years of military service with this platform. I won't get into an argument about that right now, but lets just say I never thought I would own one personally. Well, I worked out a deal with Lee (ldg397) and I have a complete upper on the way! I'm planning on building a nice M4 starting with an 80% lower. I'm a machinist by trade, so that part is a no brainer. It will be everything that I wanted my service M4's to be. It WILL NOT rattle, clank, jam, have a crappy trigger, or anything else that I hated about my service M4's. Everything will be machined so that mating parts are a nice slip fit. I'm starting to get excited about this! Wish me luck. Feel free to post your experiences with building an AR. Good thoughts/bad thoughts. Pictures of your AR are always welcome.
Steve

I think it has the potential to be a great rifle with the care and attention you will be able to give it. I'm looking forward to what you wind up with.

DrMike":1dipj6ly said:
I think it has the potential to be a great rifle with the care and attention you will be able to give it. I'm looking forward to what you wind up with.

Thanks DrMike! Usually not a lot of AR talk on this forum so I hope we can keep this thread going.
Steve

There is not a lot of talk about the AR platform, but I do believe there are quite a few represented among those posting here. True, I don't own any, but that doesn't mean I wouldn't if I had a tad more money. :grin:

Sig 516 Gen 1, Aimpoint CompM4s, a couple of rounds of M193 ammo, a few Pmags (thats not all of them)..I also have flip up sights (Troy), but haven't gotten around to putting them on there...I have it for one reason and one reason only (defending the castle)...I rarely shoot it...but I like knowing its there if I need it.