Tubb Final Finish Bore Polishing System

redrider03

Beginner
Dec 7, 2007
I just bought a new vanguard .300 Wby and thinking about loading some of these bullets up to help break in the barrel. Has anybody used this stuff before? would it be better to use some of these or just break it in using partitions? thanks for the help

I have never used the final finish system bullets.
Break your rifle in as usual. If you have problems down the road and you can definately determine it is from a rough bore give the Tubb bullets a try.
You could also use a less expensive bullet for your break in.
Speer BPSP bullets or Hornady core locks come to mind for that purpose.

how do you guys go about barrel break-in. I have never done it before, so I am curious how to do it? Does it matter what bullet or weight of bullet. Or can i use anything?

I've used the Tubb Final Finish bullets to smooth a rough bore. Have nothing bad to say about them - but I'd try breaking the barrel in with good, inexpensive, conventional bullets first.

Pretty simple process. Some guys make a mountain out of a mole hill about it.

What you're really trying to do is to burnish out the rough tooling marks left during the chambering process. Some reamers are pretty rough and leave the throat area very nasty. The break-in process smooths out that area and reduces future fouling.

Others claim a barrel doesn't need to be broken in at all. That's fine too. Clean it, shoot it, clean it some more. That's essentially what the break-in process consists of. Repeat until the copper fouling is minimized or eliminated.

Regards, Guy

I agree with all of the others but I used the Final Finish bullets in my 30-06. It worked as far as smoothing out my bore and barrel. It might not improve the accuracy but it sure is easier to clean and is now slick as a button. I bought the bullet pack and reloaded mine versus buying the preloaded pack.