Build a rifle or buy Rem Sendero ?

270fan

Beginner
Dec 25, 2006
I have narrowed it down to a 26 caliber of some form. Do I get a 260 Rem caliber built or buy a Remington Sendero in 264 Mag?

If I get one built .... what action would you recommend for consideration? Who would you suggest getting to build it? A good friend of mine who sells guns will get the Sendero for me at his cost.

I hunt white tail deer (40%), shoot targets at the range (40%), hunt crows & coyotes (8%) and shoot turtles off the stumps in the ponds on the farm out in the country (12%). I already have a BAR & a Win. model 70 both in 270 caliber. The 26 caliber will also be used some with the 3 grand sons that are just getting old enough to hunt. Also getting a 243 for the grand kids as well.

I have been tossing this idea around for several months now. I have gotten some excellent feed back from members of this board and I say thanks for that. Making this decision is a good problem to have. Thanks for any and all opinions and input.

270fan,

For what you are doing, a 264 Win Mag isn't necessary. The 260 Rem will be more than enough. Why don't you treat yourself with a custom build.

700 action, blueprinted
Hart flutted #5 contour barrel 24"
HS Precission PSV29B Varmit stock
Leupold VXIII 4.5x14

Load it with the 130 gr AB and you will have yourself one sweet rifle!

Go to www.longrangehunting.com and look up Fiftydriver (Kirby Allen) or Shawn Carlock. These guys know how to build tackdrivers!

JD338

I agree. For whitetail, varmints and target shooting, why bother with a big belted magnum? The .260 does a fine job as a target round, a varmint round and a medium game round. One of the better all-around (and under-appreciated) cartridges available.

The .260 is a real nice shooting cartridge without all the blast of the .264 Win mag. If you really need a magnum for lots of velocity, that's different. Otherwise the .260 is the way to go.